Oh Happy Day.

Life is real good these days. You know when you have that feeling of content and happiness that resides deep deep down inside? Well, I have it right now. I hope I’m not jinxing anything by saying this. But life is just so good. I attribute much of it to Bry- he has a way with me- of making me happy and content and building my self-awareness and respect for myself and my life and those around me. It’s also probably a bit of the fun holiday mode (ask me if I feel as good as I do now come mid-January!) that everyone is in. . .so whimsical and cozy and loving and festive. It’s a busy time of year- I have four dinner get-togethers this week alone- but so full of fun and love.

 I have so much to be thankful for, today and every day.

And now, a few fun things from around the inter webs:

1. Cookie butter

What say you? Cookie butter? Yes, friends, it’s true. There is a thing called cookie butter which I discovered over the weekend. Inspired by the Dutch Speculoos spread, the cookie butter from Trader Joe’s has the look and consistency of peanut butter but tasty like gingerbread biscuits in a spreadable form. It’s like comfort and Christmas in a jar. Someone on Twitter suggested adding a touch of sea salt, which adds a nice contrast to the sweetness to the cookie butter on top of toast. Yum!

2. DIY Candy Lights

Can you imagine how much kids would love this? It’s like turning your house into a real candy land! Full tutorial on Oh Happy Day.

3. Dwell Studio furniture

I think I posted these on pinterest, but I love Dwell Studio’s new furniture collection. If I was bold enough to get a patterned couch, I’d want something like the one above. Speaking of couches. We really need a new one for our family room. A few of my current favorites:

Clarke sofa from Room and Board

Petrie Leather in Copper from CB

Taylor sofa from Thrive

We are obviously nowhere near getting a new couch, but it’s fun to look/daydream. I love the 50s modern look of the above options, and I think they would work well in our space.

4. Design Sponge DIY gift guide

You should especially check out #2– I went to college with Angie at Sake Puppets and she is doing some really cool things while living in Tokyo- totally embracing their craft & using it to inspire her own creativity.

5. My top three superfluous winter wish list items:

This sweater. Seriously, stop it RL.

These mittens,

and this bag (I technically already have a gray wool bag, so I certainly don’t need this one, but it’s oh-so-cute yet rough).

6. Tilly. We are doing some training with her and she is reacting/learning so well. Sometimes I feel like I love her so much I can’t even handle it!

That’s all for now- happy cheery happy holidays, friends.

About quirkykatie
Some people say I have a staring problem, but I just like to think of myself as very observant and aware of my surroundings. I look and I learn. I'm a happy camper. I work in communications, love dealing with people, and always accept a creative challenge. I am rather impatient, somewhat moody, just the right amount of stubborn, and always quirky. Minnesota is a beautiful state full of opportunity and activities, so if you have never been here, plan a visit. I promise you won't be disappointed.

One Response to Oh Happy Day.

  1. Ang says:

    Woot! Thanks for the shout-out, Katie! \(^o^)/

    ps – I also want those mittens.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

