What do you do when it’s too cold/wet to go outside for a walk, you are feeling just a bit crappy because of certain things that are happening in your life, and you don’t feel like watching TV, reading, crafting, or trolling the interwebs?

You bake.

Last night, I was in dire need of a task that didn’t take much thought, distracted me from lingering thoughts, and made me smile. I needed some kitchen treatmeat!


I got the recipe from the lovely Monique of Ambitious Kitchen (who I have actually met a couple times as she did some work at Gen Mills for a couple months. You should really check out her blog- a great mix of healthy recipes with a couple treats mixed in, and lots of witty banter and fun ideas! And her photographs- amazeballs).  

Okay, so I had to make a few edits based on the ingredients I had available, which unfortunately meant NO chocolate chips.

But it’s all good- they were still delicious!

Just mix your dry ingredients with your wet ingredients (I didn’t have applesauce either, so I used some yogurt! and I just used a full banana instead of a half of one),


until you have a lovely and wet batter, like this:


Then, scoop them into your muffin cups (cute ones a plus! Mine are from Ikea),


and bake about 25 minutes, until they are a bit crunchy on top,


but moist on the inside!


These muffins don’t have any oil or butter, and only two egg whites. But the pumpkin and spices (I also snuck in some cinnamon) and oats and yogurt and almond milk make them delicious! Not too sweet, not too plain, not too heavy, not too light.


A perfect afternoon snack or breakfast on the go. I froze 6 of them individually wrapped so I can grab them on the way to work for a quick (albeit a bit healthier) dose of baked goodness.


Give them a try, as I’m fairly certain you will be glad you did.



Up next, I want to make these roasted butternut squash and black bean enchiladas or broccoli potato nuggets. Yum.

About quirkykatie
Some people say I have a staring problem, but I just like to think of myself as very observant and aware of my surroundings. I look and I learn. I'm a happy camper. I work in communications, love dealing with people, and always accept a creative challenge. I am rather impatient, somewhat moody, just the right amount of stubborn, and always quirky. Minnesota is a beautiful state full of opportunity and activities, so if you have never been here, plan a visit. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

